Get cheap bulk ammo at Lucky Gunner

Emergency Essentials/BePrepared

The Long Winter

The Long Winter

Postby fastback65 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 3:06 pm

The Long Winter

I have never tried writing before, so please be gentle but firm. If I start rambling, well, thats pretty much how I talk. Please let me know of any grammatical or spelling errors and let me know if you think I should continue. There are some fine writers here, and it can be a little intimidating.

The Long Winter

Chapter 1

“I don't think this Winter will ever end,” Marty complained to his wife, Martha. “This has been the coldest, wettest, Winter I can remember.”

“Seems like it to me too, Marty,” Martha replied, “at least the chicken coop is thawed enough that I can do a good cleaning. Egg laying has just about come to a halt.”

“Let me know when you get if cleaned, and I will work the manure into the beds in greenhouse. It is past time to get them started.”

Marty slowly ambled his way over to the barn and began the chore of feeding the animals, the mules got fed first. He wasn't sure why, but the mules were his favorite, except when plowing downwind and the mules expelled the exhaust from the wheat shorts. He supposed, it was because without fuel for the tractor, he knew the mules were his best chance for getting in a crop. Next came the cows. Now the cows were Martha's favorite, he mused. He was glad for that, for she insisted she be the one to milk them everyday. Lord knows he had enough to do around here without that.

After finishing in the barn, Marty stepped up on the back porch and shed his dirty boots and jacket and headed into the warmth of the kitchen for a much needed cup of coffee, black of course. Looking in the oven he saw it was time for the biscuits to come out so he grabbed a towel and removed the old cast iron skillet and set it on a cool place on the stove top.